NWCFL Constitution - Season 2016-17

Thu 12th May 2016 | Announcements
By Ian Templeman

The FA announced this afternoon the Club Allocations for Steps 5 & 6 which have been sanctioned by the Leagues Committee.

The new club allocations to the NWCFL are as follows.

Premier Division:

New Mills have been relegated from the Evo-Stik League Division One North.

Division One:

Carlisle City have been promoted from the Northern Football Alliance

Charnock Richard have been promoted from the West Lancashire League

FC Oswestry Town have been allocated to the NWCFL as a new club

Prestwich Heys have been promoted from the Manchester League

Sandbach United have been promoted from the Cheshire League

The NWCFL constitution for season 2016-17 as announced by the FA today is as follows.

Premier Division

1874 Northwich     
Abbey Hey     
AFC Darwen     
AFC Liverpool     
Ashton Athletic     
Atherton Collieries    
Barnoldswick Town     
Barnton or Bacup Borough     
Cammell Laird 1907     
Congleton Town    
Hanley Town     
Maine Road     
New Mills     
Runcorn Linnets     
Runcorn Town     
Squires Gate     
West Didsbury & Chorlton     
Winsford United     

Division One

AFC Blackpool

Alsager Town

Ashton Town

Atherton Labernum Rovers

Barnton or Bacup Borough

Carlisle City


Charnock Richard

Cheadle Town

Daisy Hill


FC Oswestry Town

Holker Old Boys

Litherland REMYCA

Northwich Manchester Villa (now resigned from the NWCFL)

Prestwich Heys AFC

Sandbach United


St Helens Town

Stockport Town

Whitchurch Alport



The FA allocation list was drawn up before the resignation of Northwich Manchester Villa last night could be communicated to the FA. 

It is the FA who will make the decision as to whether this vacancy is filled by another club, or if the NWCFL Division One will operate with 21 clubs next season. 

Following a decision communicated to the League Management Committee by the FA Ground Grading Technical Panel on the 3rd May, we understand that Rochdale Town will be relegated to a Step 7 League for season 2016-17.

The FA communication stated the panel had considered the most recent reports in relation to the review of Step 6 clubs’ gradings, and decided that it was necessary to withdraw the grade previously awarded to Rochdale Town, who were now be regarded as ungraded.

The Club had the right of Appeal, which needed to be submitted to The FA Judicial Services Department within seven days from the date of the written decision, outlining the Grounds of Appeal in accordance with The Football Association’s appeal procedures.

No appeal was submitted, therefore the FA did not allocate Rochdale Town to the NWCFL Division One for season 2016-17.

City of Liverpool FC had also applied to join the NWCFL for season 2016-17, but the FA have allocated the club to the Liverpool County Premier League.

The NWCFL Management Committee have been notified by the club that they are considering an appeal against the decision.

Our Sponsors & Partners

Our Sponsors & Partners