Select Results by Season

All Results | 1988/89 season

Saturday 3rd September 1988
F.A. Challenge Cup Preliminary Round
Arnold 1-0 Bootle 
Ashington 2-4 Rossendale United 
Clitheroe 2-2 Lancaster City 
Formby 0-7 Congleton Town 
Glossop 0-0 Prescot Cables 
Leyland Motors 0-1 Bridlington Trinity 
Norton & Stockton Ancients 1-0 Darwen 
St Helens Town 0-1 Ashton United 
Warrington Town 3-2 Curzon Ashton 
Wren Rovers 0-3 Whitley Bay 

 

Tuesday 6th September 1988
F.A. Challenge Cup Preliminary Round Replay
Lancaster City 1-0 Clitheroe 
Prescot Cables 1-0 Glossop 

 

Saturday 10th September 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase Extra Preliminary Round
Atherton Collieries 1-3 St Dominics 
Flixton 1-2 Daisy Hill 
General Chemicals 5-2 Ellesmere Port & Neston 
Linotype 0-1 Maine Road 
Meir K A 2-2 Oldham Town 
Nelson 1-2 Eppleton Colliery Welfare 
Poulton Victoria 1-1 Cheadle Town 
Salford 3-1 Rylands 
South Shields 1-0 Blackpool Mechanics 

 

Tuesday 13th September 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase Extra Preliminary Round Replay
Cheadle Town 1-2 Poulton Victoria 
Oldham Town 1-4 Meir K A 

 

Saturday 17th September 1988
F.A. Challenge Cup 1st Qualifying Round
Bilston Town 0-0 Warrington Town 
Blyth Spartans 1-0 Rossendale United 
Burscough 0-1 Emley 
Colwyn Bay 0-0 Ashton United 
Eastwood Hanley 2-0 Prescot Cables 
Morecambe 3-3 Skelmersdale United 
Stalybridge Celtic 1-4 Chadderton 

 

Tuesday 20th September 1988
F.A. Challenge Cup 1st Qualifying Round Replay
Ashton United 2-1 Colwyn Bay 
Skelmersdale United 1-2 Morecambe 
Warrington Town 3-2 Bilston Town 

 

Saturday 24th September 1988
F.A. Trophy 1st Qualifying Round
Sutton Coldfield Town 2-3 Colwyn Bay 

 

Saturday 1st October 1988
F.A. Challenge Cup 2nd Qualifying Round
Ashton United 1-3 Bangor City 
Chadderton 1-5 Hyde FC 
Rhyl 1-1 Warrington Town 

 

Tuesday 4th October 1988
F.A. Challenge Cup 2nd Qualifying Round Replay
Warrington Town 2-0 Rhyl 

 

Saturday 8th October 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase Preliminary Round
Atherton LR 1-2 Salford 
Bootle 4-1 Waterloo Dock 
Bridlington Town 0-0 Wren Rovers 
Burscough 3-1 St Dominics 
Chadderton 1-3 Maghull 
Clitheroe 3-2 Ashington 
Daisy Hill 1-2 General Chemicals 
Darwen 3-2 Langley Park Welfare 
Droylsden 2-1 Prescot Cables 
Formby 2-3 Ashton United 
Irlam Town 4-3 Skelmersdale United 
Knypersley Victoria 1-3 Vauxhall GM 
Leyland Motors 4-1 Willington 
Maine Road 1-2 Eastwood Hanley 
Newcastle Town 2-2 Glossop 

 

Tuesday 11th October 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase Preliminary Round Replay
Glossop 0-1 Newcastle Town 
Wren Rovers 0-3 Bridlington Town 

 

Saturday 15th October 1988
F.A. Challenge Cup 3rd Qualifying Round
Warrington Town 1-2 Leek Town 

 

Saturday 22nd October 1988
F.A. Trophy 2nd Qualifying Round
Colwyn Bay 2-1 Hednesford Town 

 

Saturday 5th November 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase 1st Round
Annfield Plain 1-4 Leyland Motors 
Ashton United 1-0 General Chemicals 
Bootle 0-1 Curzon Ashton 
Burscough 1-6 Rossendale United 
Cleator Moor Celtic 0-1 Clitheroe 
Cleator Moor Celtic 1-2 Clitheroe 
Droylsden 1-1 Salford 
(After Extra Time, 1-1 after 90 mins)
Irlam Town 3-2 Newcastle Town 
Maghull 2-4 Poulton Victoria 
Merseyside Police 0-1 Vauxhall GM 
South Shields 4-1 Darwen 

 

Tuesday 8th November 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase 1st Round Replay
Salford 1-2 Droylsden 

 

Saturday 26th November 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase 2nd Round
Clitheroe 2-4 Whickham 
Eastwood Hanley 2-0 St Helens Town 
Leyland Motors 0-1 Bridlington Town 
Poulton Victoria 2-1 Ashton United 
Rossendale United 3-2 Farsley Celtic 
Vauxhall GM 1-0 Warrington Town 

 

Saturday 3rd December 1988
F.A. Trophy 3rd Qualifying Round
Corby Town 2-2 Colwyn Bay 

 

Tuesday 6th December 1988
F.A. Trophy 3rd Qualifying Round Replay
Colwyn Bay 2-1 Corby Town 

 

Saturday 17th December 1988
F.A. Carlsberg Vase 3rd Round
Garforth Town 1-4 Rossendale United 
Vauxhall GM 1-2 Holbeach United 

 

Saturday 14th January 1989
F.A. Trophy 1st Round
Colwyn Bay 1-1 Frickley Athletic 

 

Saturday 21st January 1989
F.A. Carlsberg Vase 4th Round
Rossendale United 3-1 Emley 

 

F.A. Trophy 1st Round Replay
Frickley Athletic 3-0 Colwyn Bay 

 

Saturday 11th February 1989
F.A. Carlsberg Vase 5th Round
Rossendale United 0-1 Sudbury Town