2024-25 FA League Allocations Announced

Fri 17th May 2024 | Announcements
By Martin Fallon

The FA Leagues Committee have confirmed the League Allocations for the 2024-25 season, with the teams now known for the Premier Division, First Division North and First Division South.

Premier Division

The big news in the Premier Division is that we will once again be running with a 24 team division. As known, we lose Wythenshawe and Wythenshawe Town who were both promoted to the Northern Premier League, plus Skelmersdale United who have been relegated to Step 6. Replacing them are three sides from the First Divisions, with FC St Helens promoted as Champions of the North and South Liverpool and Abbey Hey promoted as Play Off Winners in the North and South respectively. As expected, First Division South Champions Brocton have been laterally moved into the Midland League.

There are two big changes in addition to the above. With vacancies at Step 5 due to teams dropping out, Stockport Town have been promoted to the Premier Division as one of the losing Play Off finalists with the best Points Per Game record last season. Congratulations to all at Stockport Town. However to accommodate them, Kendal Town have been laterally moved to the Northern League. We wish them all the best for the forthcoming season.

First Division North

As mentioned above, Skelmersdale United will be at Step 6 next season and they have dropped into the First Division North. Joining them will be two promoted sides with Maghull and Thornton Cleveleys coming in. Maghull are a Merseyside team situated not far from the end of the M57 / M58 Motorways. They are around eight miles away from Burscough. They finished second in the West Cheshire League last season. Thornton Cleveleys are from the Fylde coast and are less than three miles away from Fleetwood. They won the West Lancashire League last season.

All teams across Step 6 finishing second and third bottom got reprieves, so Garstang and Shelley remain at Step 6. Nelson were had the third best Points Per Game of all the sides finishing bottom of Step 6, and as a result have also been given a reprieve.

Shelley have though been laterally moved across to the Northern Counties East League alongside Ilkley Town. Both of these sides had requested lateral movement which has been granted.

Also in the North Division next season are Droylsden and Maine Road, who have both been laterally moved across from the First Division South.

First Division South

The First Division South welcome one new club via promotion, and its a return to the league for Foley Meir. They spent the 2022/23 season with us before being relegated, and have bounced back after a third placed finish in the Staffordshire County Senior League. As mentioned above, teams finishing second and third bottom got reprieves so Market Drayton Town and Winsford United remain at Step 6. 

The other changes all concern lateral movements. Runcorn Town have been laterally moved to the First Division South from the First Division North. We also welcome three new clubs to the league who have been laterally moved from the Midland League.

Allscott Heath finished second in the Midland League Division One last season, before losing in the play-offs. Allscott is nine and half miles west of Telford or around 19 miles further south of Market Drayton. Shawbury United finished 10th last season in the Midland League Division One but won the TJ Vickers Cup. They have had something of a nomadic existence in recent years, but are building a new facility in Shawbury which is just north of Shrewsbury. Wolverhamption Sporting Community are also joining us. They finished 16th in the Midland League Division One but have reached the Final of the JW Hunt Cup which is on Tuesday at Molineux! WSW are based in Great Wyrley which is a couple of miles away from the start of the M6 toll.


All allocations are subject to appeals and the constitution will be ratified at the League AGM on 15 June 2024.

Our Sponsors & Partners

Our Sponsors & Partners