FC St Helens 2023-24 First Division North CHAMPIONS

Fri 29th March 2024 | FC St Helens
By Media Team

FC St Helens were today crowned 2023-24 First Division North Champions after an enthralling battle with Runcorn Town at Windleshaw today.

The stage was set with the pitch looking remarkably well given the amount of water it had absorbed over the last couple of days and even sunshine came out for day.  The game was really tough affair with it being a physical battle for the first 20-25 minutes as the pitch started to show the scars of some pretty solid challenges from both teams.

On the half hour Mark it was Runcorn Town who broke the dealock ast they pressed forwards and after a cross in from the left saw Joe Mason save one shot but not able to collate the ball, it was Eric Yahaha who pounced on the rebound to put Runcorn Town ahead on 27 minutes.  Two minutes later came the equaliser from FC St Helens first attack since the restart as they ploughed forwards in numbers and after Josh Hall was brought down with a crunching tackle, the ball fell to Thomas Scarborough who took the ball on and fired it into the corner.

As the game headed towards the break it was FC St Helens who started get get a foothold on the game and that momentum produced a chance for Josh Hall who was allowed some room up front and he picked up a supern long pass from Joe Mason, ran towards the goal and put the ball away clinically to put The home side ahead.

After the restart it was a tense affair and as the league party which included Vice-Chairman, Geoff Wilkinson and League Development Officer, Charlie O'Brien started to shuffle two and fro from vehicles carrying shiny blanket covered objects to a secure area. The magical presence of silverware seemed to carry on its title chaser jinx from last season as Runcorn Town pushed forwards and Matt Scoullar fired in a powerful shot to level the game.  The brasso was on ice!  On 76 minutes the tension was broken when after a strong challenge in the box, the refereee awarded FC St Helens a penalty.  Calm as you like, Jack Ball slotted home the penalty to the joy of the home crowd and then commended around 20 minutes of nailbiting angst for the FC St Helens Officials and supporters.

However, the referee blew up on 90+6 and it was the home side who secured the three points and this the 2023-24 First Division North Title was claimed by the Windleshaw side.  They had been the most consistent side across the division all season and despite the close attentions of the likes of Atherton LR, South Liverpool and a number of others, won the title with a couple of weeks to spare.

North West Counties League Chairman, Paul Lawler assisted by NWCFL League Director, Gary Langley were the presentation party as the players were awarded with the new look 2023-24 Season medals.  As the medals were being admired by the players, the FC St Helens Captain Zak Riley was presented with the Champions Trophy by the Chairman and he took the trophy to hold it aloft and celebrate with the team to the joy of a considerable chunk of the near 400 crowd who were at the ground today.

Congratulations to all at FC St Helens who will take their place in the NWCFL Premier Division for the 2024-25 season.


Our Sponsors & Partners

Our Sponsors & Partners